999 – a letter to Phillip Dunne MP

Dear Philip,

December last a 999 call was made for an ambulance to come to me.

It took AN HOUR.

I believe the target response time in a rural area is 20 mins.

Had it been a heart attack,conventional opinion suggests that I would not have survived.

……………………………………

I had been bleeding heavily for 2 hours, dangerous, potentially, since I am on Warfarin.

I contacted Shropdoc, who instantly said they would 999 an ambulance: this was about 0130…ambulance arrived 02.30.

I raised my concerns some weeks later. A very long letter arrived, giving minute by minute account of events which distilled into what I have said. W Mids Ambulance said they had been unable to get out a Shrewsbury ambulance,all were busy..so had gone cross-Border: mine came from Newtown.

OK.

They concluded by saying that they were constantly seeking to improve their service!!!!!!!!

 I should be most grateful if you COULD PRESS THEM AS TO WHAT STEPS THEY HAVE TAKEN TO IMPROVE THEIR RESPONSE TIME.

 I have no doubt that they will send you a huge letter as they did me : please dont forward it ! We need to kick them into DOING SOMETHING!!!!!

 

With thanks,

Yours sincerely,

Peter

 

Leave a Reply

